A Landmark for equality in Britain

“Today is an important day. I am a strong believer in marriage. It helps people commit to each other and I think it is right that gay people should be able to get married too,”

“This is, yes, about equality. But it is also about making our society stronger. I know there are strong views on both side of the argument – I accept that. But I think this is an important step forward for our country.” – David Cameron

I could not be happier! What wonderful news! Despite not blogging for a while, I HAD to write about this. (Check out the bill details here)

Maria Miller new position worried me that we would not see this new law for a very long time, but I am so chuffed she sees a strong difference between marriage and civil ceremonies.

MPs voted 400 to 175 in supporting the government’s Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill – a majority of 225 votes – following an afternoon of heated debate in the House of Commons.

It brings great warmth to my heart that people in this country are able to MARRY those they love, whether it be religious or non-religious ceremonies, because love is love, and gender or sex does not define that. It seems that the UK has taken a leaf out of the USA’s book! Wonderful.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

