Heart vs Mind: What Makes Us Human?

Heart vs Mind: What Makes Us Human?

Just watched this amazing documentary!

The beginning was very interesting where scientists and museum experts explained the role of the heart throughout society, from Egyptians to philosophers and doctors. It’s wonderful how far research has developed.

It’s strange how the majority of speakers in this documentary kept on saying how most people just see the heart as a pump, but I’ve never thought of it like that. I’ve always thought that the heart and the brain work together (the brain being dominant, of course), because I’ve felt a link myself. I’ve felt heart flutters when I see my boyfriend, I’ve felt heart pain when grieving, being upset or ‘heart broken’. I’ve also always believed that one can die of a broken heart.

The beginning of the documentary, however, did make me think more about my heart and how it works. To be honest, I’ve never really thought about it much before, and the importance of its role, but seeing a live one beat and being shown the workings of the heart was extremely interesting. It made me want to take better care of my heart!

The part about the heart also having neurones was fascinating. Seeing as the brain has neurones, which we associate with neurology – information, senses etc, it’s amazing that the heart has neurones too. For me, that’s pretty evidential that the heart has some involvement with how we think.

Anyway, I could carry on, but I don’t want to ruin it! Highly recommend this documentary, even if you do not know much about the body, the heart, psychology…

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

