So, as you can tell, I am an atheist…

This picture pretty much sums up how I feel about religion:

 One thing that really annoys me is when people say “that’s not very Christian of you!” or “you won’t go to hell if you do this or that”, and apparently if you murder, rape or abuse people, as long as you repent your sins before death, you’ll go to heaven. Sorry, but it’s not “very Christian” of the sick priests and vicars who take advantage of their position to abuse young boys form their Church. NO BUT WE MUSTN’T TALK ABOUT THAT! No, we must not talk about the fact that religious figures sexually abuse innocent young boys in their oh so holy place.

Religion is just a load of contradictory rubbish. It is absolutely impossible to follow the Bible. No one even does, people just decide to pick out certain bits and go along with it.

And what does being a Christian have to do with being a good person? I’m a fucking good person, I tell you that, I do SO much for people, but I’m an atheist. My mum is an atheist and she spends so much of her time helping out all the old neighbours – she’s always getting their shopping, fixing things for them, driving them to and from the hospital … one once said to her “you’re a good Christian for doing this”, why can’t she just say she’s a good person?!

I don’t do good things for other people, treat others with respect and cease judgement on people because I want to go to a good place when I die, I do it because I want to. Because it’s what decent human being should do without the thought of gaining something at the end of it.

If you’re religious and your God(s) help you when times are tough, then that’s great, but I HATE it when it’s pushed in my face. Don’t preach to me about bullshit that I know more about than you do. I was brought up a Christian, my boyfriend is from a Catholic family, my two aunts are extremely religious, I went to Church for about 10 years, I own two Bibles, I gained an A in Religious Studies GCSE, I leisurely study the Bible’s meanings and quotes, I watch documentaries, I read books about religion, I read articles about religion…. the list goes on. I think most people assume Atheists are ill-knowledged, but I bet pound for a penny I know more about every religion than most religious people. I can quote from the Bible with who wrote what. Ask any homophobic Christian who exactly wrote that being gay is an “abomination” and where it came from, and I BET they do not have a clue.

And that’s what angers me – talk all you like about your religion, but if you’re claiming things from hear-say or from what your parents have told you, then you are not a proper ‘Christian’. If anything, it’s insulting to your own religion, and it’s insulting to those who do take their religion seriously and actually know their holy book inside-out!

Additionally, there are a few main reasons as to why exactly I am an atheist. Firstly, unlike most Christians, I do not deny actual scientific proof (because I’m not an imbecile, of course). Evolution isn’t just a made up theory – there are actual fossils, skeletons … current animals and us humans are proof of evolution. Honestly, anyone who denies that is just terribly uneducated and I feel rather embarrassed to have a conversation with anyone in denial of such evident facts. Secondly, I see the story of Jesus as a myth – I believe he was a real person, but I don’t believe the stories. Let’s take the story of ‘Adam and Eve’ as an example: if this were true, we would all be retarded. There is no scientific way Adam and Eve and their children could have carried on breeding without creating disfigured and/or disabled babies – take a look at the 8-legged babies in India that are the result of incest. Regardless, even denying that they were just a story means that Adam and Eve are incestrial aaaaaand isn’t that a bit fucked up?… Plus, the story of Noah and the Ark? Really? What about the dinosaurs we have in museums across the world? What about BC – Egyptians, Greeks etc … why has the Bible completely chosen to ignore their existence? Anyway, as my second point, I meant that I see Christianity the same as I see the Greek myths. People used to believe that the Greek Gods and Goddesses were just as real as religious people believe their God(s) are real! I really do not see a difference. It’s just another cult belief – there was no proof then, are there’s no proof now. Thirdly, I believe religion creates hate. Homophobia stems from Christianity (post Christianity, orgies and bisexuality was so common in Greece – that’s where Paul, in the Bible, wrote his disgust for homosexual acts) and I do not see religion as an excuse for discrimination. Not just that. but the Bible discriminates and suppresses women, making it clear that men own women (domestic violence is allowed) whilst giving contradictory references to cheating on your wife. There’s basically a lot of contradiction and hatred, and I HATE that. Religion is no excuse for hatred, and I cannot be a part of something that preaches such disgusting things. If you’re not aware of the extent of discrimination religion brings, Google ‘God Hates Fags’.

 

I hope I haven’t offended anyone, I’m just telling the truth and expressing my opinion. I do not support hate, suppression and idiocy, so I do not support religion.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “So, as you can tell, I am an atheist…

  1. Jemma says:

    All I have to say is that I’m sorry for you, I’m sorry that that is the way religion appears. I am a christian and I sin, everyday I do bad things ad I am one of the most unperfect people there is. However I know that God loves me and actually I know you think you may know a lot about christianity but you have missed one point. Catholicism is not the same thing, in my opinion catholics have a very clouded view of God. I really don’t have time to go in to detail as to why everything you’ve said is wrong but i will say one thing. God created this world and everytime we sin or turn away from him he is saddened he loves me but he loves you too, perhaps even more, out of compassion. I pray that you will find God again and you will ise this passion that you have been blessed with by him to help spread the good news!

    • stephbk123 says:

      Jemma, thanks for your feedback! Really appreciate it.
      I am aware of how different Catholics are (my boyfriend and his family are Catholics), that’s why they’ve been mentioned only once really. However, I won’t hesitate to say that the reason I have mentioned Catholics with Christians is because their views all come from the same holy book. I agree about your point about Catholic’s views, but I honestly see it all as the same, as all people who believe in the words of the Bible are all getting their information from the same source.
      Well, everything I said isn’t wrong, that’s just your opinion. In fact, you’re the only person so far who’s disagreed with me, and I’ve had 47 views on that post.
      I never found God in the first place, I was brought up into Christianity, but I’ve never believed in God. I can’t believe in something that is so contradictory. Plus I believe in science and fact. To be honest, I’m happy enough believing in myself and believing in the good deeds I do for others.
      It’s great you have so much love for your God, carry on doing that, but please don’t preach or try to get others to join when they don’t want to, it’s just uncomfortable.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me,
      Steph.

Leave a Reply

